Supressed Creativity

March 13, 2009

I have all the supplies I need.  I have the ideas in my head.  The problem?  Opportunity.  Between kids, my schooling, work, dishes, laundry, etc. etc. etc. I can’t seem to find the time to clean off the worktable that will allow me to try my new silk paints and finally do the silk scarves I’ve been wanting to try dyeing. 

I am frustrated!  I feel that I’m not just making excuses because the calendar shows the multitude of places I’m required to be.  I’m a single mom, so I’m the only one to do the running and my kids depend on me to get them where they need to be.  They are great kids and into cool things like jazz band, African drumming,  pep band, and sports programs, so I can’t complain.  My daughter is in Driver’s Ed, and I’m happy about that, but it requires lots of extra running.  We’re involved at our church, which we feel is essential.  Etc. etc. etc.

What to do?  When to do it? I NEED ME TIME!  I NEED ART TIME!  I feel like if I don’t create something soon, I’m going to explode.  I can find time for everything else, but maybe I don’t have my creativity needs high enough on the priority list.  If it is essential to my mental health, it needs to be addressed.  It is a matter of discipline on my part, I’m afraid, which has never been my strong suit.  I need to expect my children to take on more household responsibilities, too.  I am very lax about that.  I am going to try to do better so I can unleash some of my supressed inspiration.  I need to to stay sane!

2 Responses to “Supressed Creativity”

  1. kathy Says:

    It sounds like you are due for a “family meeting”. Explain to your kids that you too need some “play time” and that you need them to help out more with the home stuff. I can’t tell you if this will work, because I don’t have any children and have not walked in your shoes, but I totally get your feeling. My husband doesn’t take my art seriously and therefore feels everything else should come first. Life does pile up on us. Personally, I am always willing to let housework go, but he complains. Maybe another thought is to plan a night where all of you do some art together? Good luck in however you handle it, but handle it, you must!!!! For your own sanity and sense of life satisfaction.


    • I know you’re right! They are always willing, but it’s me who doesn’t ask or order. I am so used to being an at-home mom – now that I’m a single mom who’s still technically at-home due to college, I still feel like I should be doing everything. I need to let them help and teach them what they need to know anyway, and it would sure help me…otherwise they will have a mom who is climbing the walls!


Leave a Reply

