Just In Time For St. Paddy’s…

March 14, 2009

100_1003

My former father-in-law had a unique gift – he could find four and even five leaf clovers out of any clover patch.  It was amazing to watch…he never failed!  In all the times we searched, I never found one, but he would just reach in and pluck them out, one after the other.  I preserved several of these clovers for each of my children, and I’ve been saving them for several years.  I thought they would make a wonderful keepsake of their grandfather.

Several weeks ago I was browsing in The Mother Bead, my favorite bead shop in Green Bay, Wisconsin (http://www.themotherbead.com/).  There on the counter was a bowl filled with these precious little locket-type frames done in silver.  They were the perfect size for the saved pieces of clover!  I was ecstatic and I bought two of them, one for each child.  I plan to make them into a hanging keepsake for each of them.  They were only $4 apiece…what a treasure!  That makes these double lucky, doesn’t it?!

I can imagine many uses for these wonderful frames.  Hmmm.  Maybe I’ll have to make another stop into the store again soon…!

4 Responses to “Just In Time For St. Paddy’s…”

  1. Bev Says:

    I stopped looking for 4 leaf clovers the day I got stung by a bee doing so! Your former father-in-law was very fortunate. 😉


  2. Ouch! I have no luck at it, and after hearing your story, I don’t think I’ll be trying again!


  3. Great story, great clover, great frame…great blog post! Thanks so much for sharing this “seasonal” story.

    Dave


Leave a Reply

