Freedom To Suck

April 10, 2009

straw2

This awesome tip was included in a blog written by Jonathan Mead, guest contributor on Zen Habits.  It really resonated with me.  I don’t know about you, but I tend to hide my suckiness.  I don’t want the world to see my less-than-perfect artistic efforts.   I am such a perfectionist it was awesome to have someone tell me it was OK to suck sometimes!

Allow yourself to suck. One of the biggest reasons we avoid doing  what we love is that we’re afraid we’re going to fall flat on our face, in front of everyone. And then they’ll laugh or think we’re not amazing and all our theories about how we’re not really a genius will be true. Here’s some good news: You probably won’t be as bad as you thought you were. Here’s some bad news: You’ll never be great unless you first allow yourself to suck. So embrace your suckiness. Don’t let the fear of failure keep you from doing what you love.

Check out the entire blog post  here.  Then feel free to go out and suck at something today!

 

Leave a Reply

