A Born Entrepreneur

July 1, 2009

lemonade

I don’t know if anyone else has been an entrepreneur most of  their life.  From my earliest memories I was selling homemade potholders door-to-door that I made on a loom at home.  I made and sold pom-pom animals around the block.  I had lemonade and Kool-Aid stands.  I even sold my drawings door-to-door.  If I could make something, I figured I could sell it.

This is a habit I have continued to the current day.  I don’t seem to be able to have hobbies.  Everything I do seems to turn into a business somehow.  Things I enjoy become something I try to sell. 

Is it just that I am a born entrepreneur?  Am I just driven?  Am I obsessed with trying to make money?  And if I am, why aren’t i rich??!! 

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t start doing most of these things just to make money.  I usually fall in love doing something and that morphs into trying to sell it or make a business out of it.  Why can’t I just enjoy something without turning it into a job?  Why does my brain always think of new marketing ideas and unexplored niches?

I will be indebted to my childhood neighbors for the many, many homemade items that they bought and childhood businesses they helped to support.   To this day I buy from every kid that comes to the door as payback!   I am indebted to God for giving me a multitude of skills and a passion for creating, and I am so happy to be able to contribute to my family’s income by creating things that people still seem to want to buy.

But sometimes I wish he had given me the ability to just relax!

2 Responses to “A Born Entrepreneur”

  1. AffiliateGeek Says:

    Cute post! I liked your story about growing up an entrepreneur. I’ve always been the same way. Started out selling candy bars for various school fund raisers, then holiday packages and then sponsorships for our football boosters program.

    A couple of years ago I started crocheting hats and sold them for $10 each to the ladies at the Post Office. That was a fun winter in West Virginia. Isn’t that how businesses start? Someone becomes passionate about a hobby or a product, spends thousands of hours playing or working on that product in that industry which eventually makes that person or hobby turned business successful? It’s a good feeling! Keep pushing those limits!


  2. Thanks! It’s nice to know I’m not the only person like this!


Leave a Reply

