A Child’s Gift…Remastered

July 15, 2009

mom for blog

A client of mine recently contacted me to do a piece for her.  She had a bracelet made by her child on a piece of black string.  It had 7 brightly colored beads on it. The bracelet was her pride and joy.  But she was concerned about longevity.  She wanted to make it a strong piece of jewelry she could wear every day and keep for posterity and did I have any ideas?

The main thing for her and for me was keeping it as close to the original design as possible.  I strung black seed beads and then 4mm onyx beads between the original colored wood beads to hold them in place.  I used pewter letter beads to spell out “MOM” in between and finished it off with a toggle closure. The 2009 charm will be a reminder of when her son gave her the bracelet.

I really admired her desire to keep the bracelet as close to the original as possible.  She could have added and changed the design to make it more fashionable.  She could have put it away in a drawer and never worn it.  Instead she thought of a way to preserve both the memory of the gift and the original design.  I believe this client and I created something she will be able to treasure for years to come.

What do you think?

2 Responses to “A Child’s Gift…Remastered”

  1. Julie Says:

    Great post! I love my new but still original bracelet that you designed. Your very talented and I admire your work and your sincerity in making this bracelet for me!

    In Him,
    Julie


    • Julie, I am so glad you like the bracelet. I think it’s a very special idea you came up with, and I’ll bet others will do the same thing after reading about it. Moms are pretty passionate about things from their kids!


Leave a Reply

