Superwoman didn’t have children…

January 26, 2010

Superwoman was not a mother. ..

Superwoman wasn’t a single mother trying to do it all. ..

Superwoman wasn’t middle-aged!!

I still have a bad habit of comparing myself to others.  I spent this past weekend at my brother and sister-in-laws house, and it is SO clean and organized.  I came home depressed because I know for sure my home will never look like that.  Several of my friends can’t relax until their homes are clean.  For some reason, I don’t have that problem!

Is it a cleaning gene that I’m lacking?  Do I have too many things on my plate?  I know that I try to do too much at every given moment and that my housework suffers.  But what is the answer?  Should I do less so I can clean more?

I heard a saying once that said “Home should be clean enough to be healthy and dirty enough to be happy” and I guess I”m just going to have to content myself with that.  I am too old to totally change now.  I will never strive for the cleanest house on the block.  I have no problem watching American Idol with the kids instead of cleaning.  I look forward to sleeping in on my day off instead of getting my house clean.   Give me a good book and the dust can settle around me!

So maybe I’m setting a bad example.  But my kids will have to discover whether or not they carry the cleaning gene.  Until then I will have to settle for a home that is clean enough to be healthy but dirty enough to be happy!

Leave a Reply

