More Thoughts on Comfort Zones…

June 18, 2010

I thought I would be a world traveller one day.  I had a great start – I had some great experiences  before I left high school and just knew I would be travel savvy and would see the world.

I was wrong.

Once I started working full time, travel was expensive and I didn’t do as much as I would have liked.  Then, after I got married to a man who didn’t like travel and wouldn’t fly, my travelling slowed to a near standstill.  Add to that the fact we were always broke, and you have the picture of our no-travel life.

Now I’m a single mom.  I have done more travelling in the past 3 years than I had done in the previous 17.  But it was with my brothers’ family, or I drove to a family members home out-of-town, or took a child to a band competition…pretty tame travel stuff.

Now I have a wonderful job that is beginning to require travel.  I haven’t flown in an airplane since 1988!  I am excited and scared – so much has changed.  I can’t really remember any big deal with airport security in the past, but I know it’s a big deal now.  I wouldn’t even know how to find my way around an airport…but I will learn.  It’s scary, but I feel like God is giving me a second chance to be the person I once thought I might be.

I want to love travel again. I want to know other places and see things I haven’t seen and have adventures!  Other adventures than day-to-day life as a single mom, that is!

I have 3 – possibly 4 – business trips planned before now and the fall.  If you see a panicked, middle-aged woman in an airport holding up traffic and sweating profusely…give her a break!

Leave a Reply

