Blessings All Around Me…

August 22, 2010

Recently I was lying on a fabulous down comforter on a bed in a Hilton hotel room in Minneapolis, soaking up the cool air conditioning and luxurious surroundings , pondering my life.  A year ago I was hauling cases of beer out to customers’ cars while in college and now I’m staying in great hotels on all-expenses-paid business trips in an industry I’ve always been fascinated with.  I am awed and overwhelmed with my continued blessings.  What changes a year makes!

A year ago I was afraid I wasn’t going to find a job to support myself and the kids.  My worry was off the charts.  Now I go to work every day thankful and happy with my lot in life.  I love to give this job all I have not only because I’m thankful but I truly find it exciting and challenging and downright fun some of the time.  I am so truly blessed to have all that I have.

I am glad that the memories of a year ago are still so fresh in my mind and that I can continue to be so thankful.  The job at the liquor store was essential for us to survive while I went to school, and I am grateful to the owners for their help and understanding.  It was a great people place.  But now I work with people in an industry that has always been a fascination to me, I love the job and I am experiencing so many new things.  I am growing and changing and it’s such a good thing.

Growth hurts.  Change can hurt.  But it can also bring about new experiences that never would have happened without the pain.  I have hurt, but I have grown.

Leave a Reply

