Bitten by the Vintage bug…

March 6, 2011

 

When I was first in college, I was bitten by the vintage clothing bug.  I frequented our local Goodwill store.  They had a wonderful “Antique and Vintage Clothing” rack, and I bought some fabulous things there.  I also picked up oodles of jewelry.  Most of it I wore, but some I just wanted to have. I didn’t know why, but I started collecting even broken pieces if they struck my fancy.  Maybe I had an inkling that one day I would make jewelry – I’m not sure – but for whatever reason I continued to collect it even after vintage clothing became trendy and the good stuff was always gone. 

 My mother and I went to a lot of garage sales in my young adult years.  I furnished my apartments with garage sale finds, and I also came back with any jewelry I could find.  When I had children and would scour the sales for deals on baby items, I would still come home with jewelry.

Is it any surprise then, that one day while I was reading a craft magazine I came across a design for a bracelet I knew I just had to try?  It showed how to make a name bracelet with letter cubes.  Perfect!  I had 4 nieces with unique names so they could never get anything ready-made in personalized items.  I loved giving handmade items for Christmas, so this seemed perfect.  I went to the craft store and bought what I needed.  What fun!  When I was done with the name bracelets I was having so much fun I decided to make mothers bracelets for my friends and sisters-in-law.  I was forever hooked.

 And the rest is history…well, my history, anyway!

I still have tons of old jewelry with a head full of ideas to make from it.  Part of me doesn’t want to take apart such vintage masterpieces, but the other part sees glorious new ideas made from these older, worn out baubles.  Hopefully I can find a way to blend the vintage with the new into unique ways that do justice to the pieces these once were.

The image is from Andrea Singarella at www.andreasingarella.com

 

4 Responses to “Bitten by the Vintage bug…”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I LOVE this! I work with a photographer that takes boudior pics and this would look amazing! Very Pretty!!


    • I wish I could take credit for the photo – it was a Google Image and I couldn’t find anyone to credit. When I try to search it, it comes back with my blog post. If anyone knows who I can credit and where their blog/website is, please let me know. I love the image too. I’ve been looking for a vintage dressmakers form for awhile to use in photographs and just to have for my jewelry! Thanks for visiting!

  2. Lori Says:

    The image is from Andrea Singarella at http://www.andreasingarella.com


    • I will post the photo credit immediately – sorry it wasn’t on there – I pulled it from Google images and couldn’t find a credit for who originally did the shot so thanks for letting me know.


Leave a Reply

