The Security Myth…

March 10, 2011

 

On January 26, 2011 I received notice that my job was being eliminated along with 74 others.  I had just been downsized.

At first I panicked, which is a normal reaction.  I am a single mom, after all.  What was I going to do?  How was I going to support my family?  What would become of us all in this depressed economy?  For the first week I cried, I prayed, I had massive anxiety issues.  I couldn’t sleep.

Panic is my nature.  Worry is, too.  I am highly emotional, and by my nature I go to these places when things happen.  Then I get very “busy.”  Which I did by going to the local job center and getting paperwork and information going before they even had a chance to schedule anything for all of us at my workplace.  I signed up for a class on Shipbuilding. I had my resume finished and my Linked-In profile updated and started stockpiling toilet paper on sale.

 Then the most amazing thing happened.  While down with a migraine, I had hours on end to think.  I allowed my brain to wander, and it did something that surprised me…it opened up to possibilities.  I started to dream again. I asked myself “what if?”  And it was SO EXCITING! 

In the aftermath of my divorce, I gave up the dreams I had in order to provide for my family.  I was too busy seeking some form of security from the outside world to dream anymore.  I needed a salary.  Benefits.  Stability.  Security.

 But guess what?  For a while I had the salary, benefits, stability, and what I thought was security.  But it really wasn’t security, because I had no way of knowing my company would be sold.  So it was a false security that I bought into for awhile.  Realizing this was a real a-ha! moment for me.  There is no such thing as earthly security! 

 Wow – what a revelation that was to me, and how freeing it was!  It opened the floodgates to ideas and dreams and plans that have obviously been stuffed down inside of me for far too long, things I’d given up on because they didn’t offer the security I thought I needed.

Why was I so willing to look for security in strangers instead of in myself?  Who has more at stake than me to provide for me and my family?  I know my responsibilities and the capabilities I have…who better to trust my children and myself to?

So I’m going to trust in myself and go with my dreams.  I don’t know what the future holds or how things will work out.  But I do trust God, and I know He put these dreams inside of me for a reason.  He will work with me and through me.  I have a chance to finally live the life I want to live, on my terms, in my own way.  What I thought was a disaster could be the biggest opportunity of my life.

 I’m putting my money on me.

Image from http://www.colectiva.tv/wordpress/lang/en-us/2008/08/
7 Responses to “The Security Myth…”

  1. carrie Says:

    i luv it diane…………u r truly amazing……..i wish i had 1/2 as much courage as u do!!!!! and i do see pancakes in our future!!!!!

  2. Megan Says:

    While I am very sorry to hear of your misfortune with the downsizing, I am very happy for you for thinking so openly & freely about the possibilities ahead of you. Getting over & letting go of the worries is no easy task…something I struggle with daily, but having faith in yourself and giving your worries away to the One that shares his graces with you on a daily basis…something you CAN control. Good for you! Prayers for you…can’t wait to hear of your success. I’ll put my money on you too!

  3. Steffy Says:

    thank you so much for your words of advice. I think you are right, even if i do not want to style hair for the rest of my life, placing myself in the industry could lead to other things. although i do see it making me happy for a while. it seems like it worked out very well for you and many others!

    ❤ steffy
    steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  4. Kay Rashka Says:

    D-Good for you……………..to gather it together and think positive. Find your strengths and capitalize on them. Acknowledge your weaknesses and accept them. Recreate your life and your boundaries. This is very empowering for those who realize it. There will be a few odd steps backward but then two giant leaps forward for opportunity if you want it. Look at the ‘tag’ words as the side of your blog and embrace them all.

    CHeers,
    Kay

  5. Kari larson Says:

    Good for you Diane. Let’s talk!

  6. Cheri Larson Says:

    Let’s connect again Diane. We have a lot in common and maybe we can brainstorm. Come to Green Bay soon my friend!


Leave a Reply

