Flower Girl…

April 16, 2011

photo from perfectgardeningtips.com

I get to have the most fun for the next 6 weeks!  A friend of mine owns Marinette Farm and Garden, a local Feed & Seed (and everything else) store, and they always put up a garden hut in the Spring.  Hearing I was laid off, she contacted me and asked if I would be willing to help in the garden hut primping the flowers and plants, planting planters and hanging baskets, and helping customers.

Does it get any better than this?!!

I have missed my gardens so much since my house had to be sold in the divorce.  I had worked for years to create those gardens, and to me they were like my canvases.  Leaving them behind tore a piece of my heart out…well, what was left of it, anyway.  I mourned the loss of my gardens, and since I now live in a rental duplex, I couldn’t start another.  I stopped looking at gardening catalogs and thought I needed to stay away from that part of my past.  Last year, however, my Dad tilled a portion of earth up outside and I stuffed it full of perennials.  After 3 years, I was gardening again, albeit on a much smaller scale.

And now this.  I think it’s really ironic that God is giving me back my gardening passion in this way.  Even though I don’t have large gardens of my own, I get to help other people make their gardens and homes more beautiful.  All of the knowledge and skills I learned over the years can now be put to good use.  Connie, the owner, has started calling me “Flower Girl.”

I get to dig in the dirt, play with plants and talk with people…”these are a few of my favorite things…”

Leave a Reply

