Back to the Garden…

June 15, 2011

I thought I had lost it forever. 

When I had to leave my home during my divorce, I left behind extensive gardens that I had been working on for more than 10 years.  Gardening was my passion, my creative outlet, my therapy. 

Then I had to leave it, and it was devastating.  I left that house in December, so in Wisconsin that means it wasn’t able to be dug up, and I was moving into a rental, anyway.  I felt the loss of my gardens keenly, and it hurt so much I stopped looking at gardens and landscaping, magazines and catalogs – all of it.  I thought the passion had died.

Last year my Dad tilled up the space between the two porches of my duplex.  I got a few plants “gifted” from friends gardens, and it made me happy.

This year?  The plants have  already been dug up and moved  around; I’ve bought new ones, divided some, potted several pots and baskets and am frustrated that I don’t have room for more!

It’s back.  The passion for gardening is flowing back through me and making me happy again.  It hadn’t died, it had just been pushed down while I dealt with all my other losses.  Now I know there will be other gardens in my life and that love will always be there when you are ready for it to blossom again.

Photo

4 Responses to “Back to the Garden…”

  1. Laurie Says:

    I garden too and I hear you about the emotional attachment to the flowers and the theraputic feeling gardening gives to us. I was able to dig up perennials from my house in Appleton when I moved to Menominee so I feel your pain to know you could not do that in December. Maybe the next garden will be better than ever. Take care, Laurie

  2. Jen Says:

    I am so proud of you! I got goosebumps when I read this. ❤
    Jen


Leave a Reply

