Where does the time go?

August 23, 2008

I can’t believe the summer is almost over.  I was overly ambitious with my class load, and I have barely had time to do anything this summer…even making jewelry.  I keep telling myself it’s a season of my life and it will all be worth it, but when I see the days slipping away and another school year ready to begin, I get a little melancholy.  Another summer has gone by and the kids and I didn’t take that vacation to Mackinac Island…another summer and we didn’t spend any lazy days at the beach…didn’t look for beach glass…on and on the list goes.

How can I squeeze some creative time into my wild life?  I won’t give up my time with my kids.  They are growing up just too fast.  And they still want me around…so while that’s going on I’m going to be there.  I know I need to use my weekends when they’re with their father better.  I tend to sit around and feel sorry for myself.  Maybe I need to look at those as creative retreats instead of dreading them. 

I don’t know if I can, but I’m going to try.  Because I am an artist, and being creative is essential to my mental health.  I will be a better mother and a better person if I can indulge that side of myself.

I’m not doing a good job at being more organized, but I’m hoping I can make this work…we’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

