Idiot’s Delight Dessert – Blog Party 2009!

March 21, 2009

I have no idea if this dessert has another name, or if my mom made this up.  She always said this dessert was named this because it was so easy any idiot could make it.  Regardless of the name, it was a favorite all my growing up years, and it is my kids favorite, also.  My son turned twelve today and we made it for him to take to school as we have been doing since my daughter was in kindergarten – eleven years ago – and for each of their birthdays since.  The teachers and administrators look forward to it and it is the most requested dessert recipe I’ve ever had.

This time, however, my son insisted on doing the whole thing himself.  Keep in mind there is no official recipe, but I’m just telling you what amounts we used.  It changes every time we make it, depending on the crowd we’re feeding. 

Call it whatever you want and enjoy!

100_11051We used 4 bags of Chips Ahoy cookies, 4 tubs of Cool-Whip, and 2 cans of evaporated (not condensed) milk.  I use disposable aluminum pans to send to school, but any baking dish will do.  Remember this was for an extra-large crowd, so this recipe can be halved and quartered easily!

100_11062Pour the evaporated milk into a shallow bowl.  Dip the cookies, one at a time, into the evaporated milk.  Flip so the cookie is wet all over, but don’t soak.  Remove the cookie and place it in the baking pan.  Continue until there is a layer of cookies on the bottom of the pan.

100_11101When the layer is completed, use a rubber spatula to spread a generous layer of Cool-Whip over the top of the cookies.  Repeat another layer of dipped cookies, and repeat the Cool-Whip layer.  I do this up to three layers, but two is good if that’s the pan size that you’re using.

When your layers are complete and you have spread the Cool-Whip on the top, sprinkle a little crumbled cookie on the top for decoration and chill overnight.  The cookies soften and it makes a super-yummy dessert!   Wasn’t that easy?

100_11181

7 Responses to “Idiot’s Delight Dessert – Blog Party 2009!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Yummy! Gonna have to try that one!
    have a great party….see you again soon.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Stopping by from the UBP, your recipe looks yummy….and yes super easy. Nice to meet you!

  3. scatteredmom Says:

    Oooo yummy! Thanks for dropping in Notes From the Cookie Jar and leaving me a comment. This has been so much fun, hopping from blog to blog and seeing what other people do. Have fun blog partying!

  4. allena Says:

    i just tried to post a comment but not sure what happened. this looks wonderful. i’m going to have to try it!
    i’m stopping by for the UBP’09


  5. Greetings from the Philippines!

    I’m visiting from UBP site in 5M4M and I hope you’re having fantabulous time. 🙂

    Hope you pop by and visit my party place here.

    Thanks. 🙂

    ~Fran

  6. iemommy Says:

    Wow! cute site. I am having so much fun finding “new” sites through the Ultimate Blog Party. Swing by my site and see my UBP post too!

  7. Ajewelry Says:

    Idiots can claim now that they have at least one better recipe then intellectuals; Yum Yum Yummy. I was looking for jewelery but found this post, luckily. Can I try it, if I am not idiot? lolz !!!


Leave a Reply

