What I Will Miss…

April 12, 2011

from Glamour Magazine

While I am unexpectedly excited about being downsized recently, I feel like I have to acknowledge how much this job has meant to me.

 First of all, it was my first job after earning my Bachelor’s Degree at 46 years old.  It was a huge boost of confidence to know that I could survive – and thrive – in the workforce after being a stay-at-home mom for 15 years.  I loved my cubicle, my co-workers and my work…it was fulfilling and exciting and I will always be grateful for the opportunity.  It gave me a ton of self-esteem I was lacking, and the knowledge that I could care for my children and support us was empowering.

 Secondly, I will miss working in a field I have always loved.  From the first time I could remember, I was set on being a beautician when I grew up.  The desire to do hair was pushed down for many years, but at 23 years of age I decided to go to Cosmetology School.  I didn’t stay in the industry long, but I have a lifelong love of anything to do with hair and beauty, so working within that industry and putting my knowledge to work was pure joy.

 Third, I will miss the freebies.  As a marketing professional in the beauty products industry, I was given a lot of product to try in order to better market them.  I have had a chance to sample so many great products and add many to my daily must-haves.  To me these were like gold, and I loved being the aunt who gave the awesome beauty bags at Christmas and birthdays! I loved being on the cutting edge of new products and introducing them to the salons.

 So as I bid goodbye to this career, I am sad for some of the things I am losing.  But I really am not losing anything – I learned a lot and I will take those lessons with me wherever I go from here. 

The samples will be sadly missed though…

2 Responses to “What I Will Miss…”

  1. Megan Says:

    Oh the freebies are divine!!! I worked at a jewelry counter for a bit and befriended the gals in cosmetics… BEST move I ever made! 😉 From samples to gifts to promotions…. I barely ever had to buy product!

    I think it’s awesome to embrace this as you have. 🙂


    • Thanks, Maggie. It’s nice to hear from someone who knows what I’m talking about…I have been crazy about this kind of stuff my whole life, so it was heavenly! Thanks for the kind words, too. I either had to embrace it or I was going to drive myself nuts with anxiety!


Leave a Reply

